Coming out on (Crop) Top

Hello again to my loyal followers!

If you know me in person (and if you’re reading my blog, you probably do), you’ll know that I spent a long time a little while ago on a crocheted crop top. Crop tops are one of my favorite summer staples, and the hoards of crocheters on my TikTok page basically forced me to try to make my own. This is my biggest project to date, but I’m super happy with how it turned out!

I probably browsed Ravelry for over an hour, but I finally settled on this pattern from Crochet with Carrie. The pattern called for a 4 mm and 5 mm crochet hook, but I only had a 5.25 mm hook (I know, embarrassing). I used this hook for the pattern and I adjusted the pattern slightly for the new needle size. I chose a bright green worsted weight yarn.

I started off with some ribbing around the outer edge. Crochet ribbing is a bit different from knitting ribbing; knitting ribbing is done by working vertically (top down or bottom up), but crochet ribbing has to be done horizontally to get the right look. I ended up making the ribbing around the whole circumference of my torso and about 3 inches tall.

The body of the top was just a million single crochet stitches in a row, so there was no real difficulty there. I worked some decreases on just the front of the top to create my neckline and finished that off.


The final steps were to create ribbing on the upper edge of the top and create the straps. The top ribbing took a bit of time to get the hang of, so the first several rows ended up a bit janky. Nevertheless, I found my rhythm and finished off the top with some lovely thin straps!

I loved making this top so much, and now I can’t wait for summer to start so I can wear it!

One thought on “Coming out on (Crop) Top

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started